Summer Changes

This summer has been busy and I’m not going to lie, I’ve sort of forgotten about my WordPress blog. I started this with the intention of chronicaling my life and giving myself an outlet for stress/gathering my thoughts. I really struggle with taking the time to decompress so hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of things here.

In the past few months I have had some pretty large changes. I started two(!) new jobs, ended a relationship, and started planning for graduate school. I think it’s fair to say I deserve a break for the hiatus. The transition from working night shifts into a 9-5 job has been great. I enjoy my new job but it definitely isn’t forever. I’m just happy to have my sleep schedule back. I’ve read that it can take up to half the time you worked night shifts for your body to adjust again. While I hope that’s not entirely the case, I can say that I didn’t start feeling like a normal person again until about a week or two ago. I also started working at a vineyard, partially for fun and partially to fund my drinking habits. While I don’t drink nearly as much as I used to, free tasting anywhere I go is a nice perk.

As far as the relationship goes, I’ll keep that private since I’m still working out my feelings on the matter. I just know that it wasn’t the right one for me; not at this stage in my life. Especially since I’m not quite sure which step I’m taking next. I’m currently taking some prerequisite courses for graduate school and I can see where I would like to take my career but I really don’t know where those opportunities will open up for me. I’m also considering just up and moving from Charlottesville in the near(ish) future and I don’t want to be tied down right now. I also don’t feel like I’m ready for anything serious. My heart is just not there yet. And I have to keep reminding myself that THAT’S OK.

Leave a Reply

