August goals

This summer is moving so quickly and while I’m not upset about it (I hate the heat) I am surprised that it’s already August. I’ve found that just moseying through the last couple of months has left me rather unsatisfied and to prevent that from happening in the future I’ve decided to set some monthly goals to help me feel like my long term goals aren’t so far away.

  • Read more. I always love perusing book stores but I find that I buy a bunch of books to read and never finish them. I usually start one then get distracted with life and forget to pick it up again. In an effort to not waste any more money this year, I’m making it one of my goals to read all of the books I currently have in my apartment and haven’t read yet (it’s an unfortunate number right now). Currently I have two books started so my goal is to finish them both by the end of the month. I’m already about halfway through both of them so it’s really not that ambitious of a goal.
  • Meal prep. I have been transitioning to a healthier lifestyle this year and one of the things I’ve done is limited my meals out. I still struggle with this because I tend to eat out more than planned but my goal for August is to meal prep every week. I’m working on moving to more of a plant based lifestyle (more on that in another post to come) and in order to eat more plants (without just eating raw everything) requires some planning.
  • Exercise. I’ve been doing very well with this over the past few weeks but I’m struggling with balancing too much exercise with not enough. Some days I want to workout everyday (if not more) and others I can’t even get off the couch. Learning to balance is key here and I’ve started by taking a walk everyday regardless of whether I make it to the gym or not.

I’ve already put in a considerable amount of work this week on all three of these goals (I made a delicious sweet potato zucchini bake that I plan to repeat in the near future/will try to get some good pictures of to post). Speaking of photos, I’m planning on buying a new camera in the near future (more on that to come too). Now that I’ve just mentioned a few impending blog posts that leads me to my final goal of the month.

  • Blog more. As I grow this website, I promise to be  more consistent. I’m spending time planning out posts and generally just having fun with this. I’ve realized its a great outlet for me and I plan to develop it over time.
Leave a Reply

