Africa Trip!

I can’t believe I’m putting this in writing but I’m going to South Africa next year! Anyone who knows me understands my obsession with The Lion King from a young age. Also, my weird obsession with big cats which is why Cecil the Lion’s death actually made me cry last week. Although, as of right now, at least his cubs are still safe. I have a lot of opinions about this incident but mainly I’m just disappointed that yet another American did something stupid.

It’s pretty appalling to me that someone actually had enough money (and the desire) to fly into a foreign country and hunt down an animal that wasn’t native to his own land for sport. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for hunting in terms of animals you can eat, animals that aren’t borderline endangered, and animals that are a danger to the society they reside in. This lion was none of these and this guy flew half way across the world to kill him. Pure greed. End rant.

I don’t feel like I can address this whole issue without commenting on the fact that many people are upset that a dead lion can spark more worldwide outrage than, say, a dead African American or a child starving in a foreign country. And that I 100% agree with. Although Cecil was a beautiful animal, nothing can compare to an innocent human’s early death, regardless of race or country. That’s all I will say about that because I don’t feel that it is my place to comment anymore on the subject.

Now that I’ve officially gone way off topic, I feel like I can come back to my original subject. I’m traveling to South Africa next year. One of my close friends and I booked this trip after much joking and discussion about how “one day we’ll go to Africa”. Finally we just looked at each other and said “what are we waiting for?” So that’s it. It’s happening. And I cannot wait. I’m sure I’ll be posting more about this once in a lifetime experience as the date gets closer but I’m just excited to start planning it all.

We got our itinerary this week which includes some relaxing in Cape Town, South Africa while exploring Table Top Mountain and local wineries. We’ll then be heading out for a few safaris and finishing the trip in Zimbabwe at Victoria Falls. The trip is a good 6 months away (more time for me to start paying for it…) but I still get butterflies every time I think about the fact that this is actually happening. Besides a family vacation in Turks and Caicos, I’ve never been to a foreign country before so this is a completely new experience for me. 

Leave a Reply

