Saturday in Lovingston and lots of Local Links

This weekend went by way too fast. Seriously, it felt like I got home from work on Friday only to have it be Monday morning again. And now the week is already flying by. On Saturday, I woke up early and hit the Rivanna Trail for a four mile run before walking downtown to the city market. I still have a lot of food in my refrigerator but I realized I hadn’t eaten a single fruit all week so I was on a mission. I ended up buying some deliciously plump and fresh blackberries from Agriberry farm to take home. I also got a loaf of Great Harvest’s Dakota bread that I’ve been craving for a while.

Shortly after coming home, I headed to Crutchfield and bought a new camera which I talked about here. I couldn’t wait to get started using it so I took it with me for the rest of the day. Billy and I drove down to Lovingston to check out Trager Brother’s Coffee. It was cute and just the kind of place I love to hang out in. The roastery is in an old garage and they’ve set it up so you can have a cup of coffee while seeing what the equipment looks like. I enjoyed a Hazelnut latte and Billy had a double espresso shot while we sat at the counter and chatted with the sweet girl who worked there. It was a great experience and I’m so glad we went out there because I usually don’t like Trager Brothers (they own Higher Grounds in the hospital and that coffee is usually too bitter for me. However, I lived off it on night shifts). I’ll definitely give some of their lighter roasts a try now.

DSC00017

DSC00010

After we finished our coffee we decided to see what local farms were in the area and, after asking around, ended up at Saunders Peach Orchard. This place was my favorite part of the day. I LOVE going to farms and buying my produce straight from the farmer and I’m such a sucker for homemade anything. Since I really wanted some fruit I got a 1/2 peck of peaches and a peach ice cream cone (so delicious). They also had these old timey farm equipment pieces on display and the owner of the farm was walking around telling people about what everything does. Billy made fun of me for saying that I wanted to live on a farm one day but I wasn’t kidding! When I’m finally ready to purchase a house it will definitely be one with a lot of land.

DSC00028

DSC00036

After enjoying the orchard, we headed back north and stopped at a few vineyards along the way. First, we stopped at DelFosse which was beautiful but I didn’t like any of their wines. The next place we stopped was Loving Cup and I’m so glad we did! Loving Cup is an organic vineyard-the only one in the state. During our tasting (which was only $3) we had the opportunity to talk to the owner who explained about how the grapes he grows are not native to Virginia but were actually hybrid varietals created at a couple of different colleges throughout the country to be resistant to disease without needing to spray pesticides all over them. All of the wines we had were delicious and it was fun to try out new grapes.

DSC00079

We ended the day back home with a little Mexican food from my favorite college restaurant-El Jarepeo. It’s been a while since I’ve eaten there and I was instantly reminded of the time half my nursing class skipped geriatrics (I swear it was the only class I’ve ever skipped) to get margaritas and the time my friend Abby and I got drunk there by ourselves because we were done with finals and nobody else was. With the college kids coming back this week for school to start, it was a nice reminder of the good ol’ days (and a reminder to stay away from the college as its about to be overcrowded again). I really had enjoyed my quiet lunch break runs to the corner while they lasted.

Leave a Reply

