Junior League of Charlottesville

I’ve lived in Charlottesville for 6 years now. When I first moved here for college I was excited to branch out and learn all of the new things college had to offer. When I graduated, I still didn’t feel like I had exhausted all of my opportunities here so it felt natural that I would stay. Now that I’ve been out of school for 2 years, I’ve started to get the feeling that something needs to change about my life outside of work. This summer was a major transition for me with a new job starting and learning how to work independently in an office. Now that I have a handle on that (most days), I feel like I’m ready to start focusing on my social life again. 

Outside of work, I haven’t had many new experiences. Most of my friends in town are nurses and residents from the hospital which, don’t get me wrong, is great but I still feel like something has been missing. I miss the diversity though. I remember in college the whole reason I joined a sorority was to get away from my nursing friends (which was basically a sorority in itself). So I’m really excited to join what is basically an adult version (much less stress/drama, way more friendtime and giving back to the community). I just began my Provisional year with the Junior League of Charlottesville and I could not be more excited.

We had our first orientation last night and now I’m stoked to start getting involved as events pop up. I’m also excited to start volunteering again. The only volunteering I’ve done since college has been with the PB&J fund which is a local non-profit that focuses on teaching food-insecure children and families how to eat healthier with cheaper options (i.e. through cooking). It’s amazing and I can’t wait to start up again but I’m also excited about the various different opportunities Junior League is going to open up for me too.  

 Aside from the volunteering, I’d be lying if I said the main reason I joined JLC wasn’t to make new friends in town because it definitely is. I’m happy to have something to look forward to besides going to the gym and cooking in the evenings. Not that there’s anything wrong with either of those, I’d just really enjoy having more friends in town to do those things with. I can already tell I’m going to mesh really well with the women in the League and for the first time in a while I’m feeling excited about something new in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

