Summer Fueled Lifestyle Changes

DSC00289

Like many people, I’ve always been interested in food and living a healthy lifestyle. I’ve struggled a lot with my weight in the past and have been confused by the many different advertised ways to eat healthy. After reading many a self-help book about being healthy I’ve determined that the best way to ensure good health is to learn how to cook. It’s so, SO simple and yet, most of the time we find ourselves coming up with excuses not to do it. I’ve always had basic skills in the kitchen but I grew up on lean cuisines and hoagies for dinner most nights. Definitely not the best eating habits but I’m determined to change that.

This year I’ve really dedicated myself to cooking more often because I hate that food has amounted to being either processed or overpriced in a restaurant. Don’t get me wrong, I love eating out, however I’ve noticed that since I’ve stopped eating out as often I’ve saved a lot of money and have been able to eat much better quality foods. My body has thanked me for it as I have more energy than ever and I feel happier.

At the beginning of the summer, I watched this documentary and it really changed my perspective on the way I eat. While I admit that I’m a sucker for a big dramatic documentary, I have to say that this one really hit home with me. I’m not going to be only eating for medicinal purposes now but I have tried to make some lifestyle changes because of this movie. I really do believe that plant based foods are so much healthier than animal products and I’ve tried to limit the animal products I consume. The biggest thing I’ve changed however, is my consumption of processed foods. Through cooking I’ve started opening my palate to fresh whole foods.

This summer I made a pact to only buy foods from local sources. I did most of my weekly grocery shopping on Saturdays at the Farmer’s Market and if I run out of groceries I’ll walk to one of our  local grocery stores. I tried Relay Foods again but I never know what I’m going to need for the week until the day I decide I’m going to cook so that doesn’t usually work for me since you have to order ahead of time.

Although it’s been a little challenging at times, I’ve really enjoyed spending more time preparing food in the kitchen and getting outside and walking to pick up my food rather than having to drive somewhere. I realize I’m one of the lucky few people who has access to food within walking distance of me but I might as well use the resources while they’re available. Not everyone is so lucky. I really enjoy what I’ve been cooking up lately and I’m having fun experimenting in the kitchen. I’d love to post some pictures of the things I’ve cooked but so far its just been random combinations of vegetables and the spices in my pantry. I will definitely post some great recipes if I come upon any.

I’ve been contemplating the Whole30 program but I’m going to Napa Valley at the end of September and there is no way I’d pass up the chance to drink wine in wine country. I’ll probably start the program anyway (yes I know its cheating but whatever I can always start over when I get back). So as I get started I’ll keep everyone updated with the recipes I find. I’m planning on making a few big meals at the beginning of the week so this weekend is going to be spent meal prepping and grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

