My Whole30 Journey

I picked up a copy of It Starts With Food this week and started my Whole30 journey on Monday. Admittedly, I won’t complete it because my trip to California is at the end of the month (and there’s no way I’m going to Napa and not tasting wine) but I really didn’t want that to be an excuse for me not making any lifestyle changes in the mean time. I’m sure I’ll want to do it again and truly stick to it but if I’m being honest, it probably won’t be until after all of the holidays that are creeping up. At least starting now will help prepare me for the holiday season and hopefully I’ll make better choices during that time. I’m really just hoping to get some healthy habit changing tips throughout this whole process.

I went to the Farmer’s Market and then to the local grocery store to get some supplies and prepped my meals for the week on Sunday. So far, I’m really loving my menu. First I made Cauliflower “soup” but it really turned out the consistency of mashed cauliflower. Still delicious, so no complaints. I added chives and some nutritional yeast for flavoring and I’ve just discovered how much I love chives. Seriously, where have they been all my life and why am I not using them more often?

IMG_0711
All the veggies I bought for the week (not pictured cauliflower I picked up from the grocery store since I can’t get it locally around here).

I’ve also been eating these INSANE buffalo chicken stuffed peppers. I actually boiled the chicken before cooking (to make stock for the soup) and it turned out fine. I just reduced the temperature to 275 and cooked for the recommended time. I went to The Spice Diva on Saturday and got some surprisingly cheap spices to use. I was shocked at everything I could find for under $6!

IMG_0713
Six dollars for all of this? I can’t believe it, these will last me a while.

For breakfast, I’ve been eating a hardboiled egg and what I’ve named a monkey bowl. A banana covered in almond butter with unsweetened coconut on top. SO. GOOD. Seriously, why have I not discovered this combination before?

IMG_0710

Lunches have been salad and cauliflower mash so far and dinners are chicken stuffed peppers. I haven’t been hungry at all, I’ve just been struggling mostly with cutting out cravings in the evening or really just cutting out my desire to eat all the time. I’m only a few days in so we’ll see how things go from here. So far no sugar crashes but I’ve heard that’s coming. We shall see.

One thought on “My Whole30 Journey

Leave a Reply

