Quick Recap and a Few Recipes

I know I said I’d try to update more and then failed to get back into the swing of things. But what can I say?, I’ve been busy and a little stressed out lately. I have started taking more time to work out though and my class has gotten a lot easier (and thankfully, is almost over). Just in time for the Holidays!

Since its been a while and I’ve finally taken the time to reboot my laptop (I usually post from my iPad). I’ll take a little more time to recap what I’ve done the past two months.

Towards the end of October, many of my friends came back into town for UVa Homecomings. It was so nice to see friends from out of town and just spend some time on the Lawn.

I’ve spent most of November trying to catch up on schoolwork but I’ve also had some time during the week to try out some new plant based recipes. I’ve really gotten into this lifestyle and have found a way to make it work for me. I feel so much better when I eat food from plant sources and I’ll occasionally treat myself to dairy products when I’m out (although I haven’t eaten meat in weeks and don’t plan to ever again).

I’ll try to be better about taking pictures when I try out new recipes from now on but for now, here are some of my favorite creations from the last month including a recipe I made myself:

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (I substitute in about 1/4 cup almond flour as well as the regular flour on this one just because I like the taste although the regular flour holds the shape of the cookies a little better).

Black Bean Corn Tacos-Essentially just beans, rice, avocado, and any assortment of veggies and spices you can think of. I topped this one with guacamole. Perfect for any meal of the day.

IMG_0874

Tahini Dill Sauce-this one I made myself as a dipping sauce for roasted potato wedges. Here’s the rough recipe I used:

  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (you can use any plant based milk, this is just to add creaminess and cut the taste of the tahini a little bit).
  • 2 tsp dill
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 tsp chives
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Process everything together and enjoy!

One thought on “Quick Recap and a Few Recipes

  1. Pingback: Nurse in Progress

Leave a Reply

