The Turkeys Are Coming!

Today reminded me of being back in grade school. It’s the day before a holiday and the office was so quiet. We didn’t treat patients and the only people around were the international folks who didn’t really care too much about the upcoming holiday. Needless to say, I was not too productive. Well, actually I channelled all of my excitement/energy and got all of my work done early and then tried to find things to occupy my time until I could bust out of the office at EXACTLY 4:30. Not a second after.
IT’S ALMOST THANKSGIVING FOLKS. IT’S THE BEST HOLIDAY OF THE YEAR. Seriously, we all know how much I love to cook and the thought of spending an entire day cooking while sipping on wine and watching football barely kept me going all day. And we can’t forget the Macy’s day parade! The Cavalier Marching Band is going to be in the parade this year and I’m so excited for them. The parade is one of my favorite traditions of the holiday so I can’t wait to watch them.
I kept making lists of everything I want to bring to my brother’s house tomorrow and all of the foods I’m going to cook. So far, my list includes:
  • Spinach pecan apple salad with a homemade dressing (It’s a holiday so we’ll splurge with goat cheese and I’ll add it on last so I don’t overdo it).
  • Roasted sweet potatoes and brussels sprouts-I usually throw these in the oven with a little bit of truffle oil at 400 degrees and watch them closely. I think I’m out of truffle oil so I may have to use a balsamic vinegar instead.
  • And of course those delicious vegan chocolate chip cookies I’ve already raved about.
I don’t have any photos yet because I haven’t gotten down to cooking but I’ll surely update soon with some pictures from the main event. I’m debating making the cookies tonight but I think I’ll probably do those in the morning after my workout because I’m feeling kind of lazy. Happy Turkey Day (and if you’re like me and don’t eat much of turkeys any more, Happy Thanksgiving)!
Leave a Reply

