Recent Plant Based Creations

After Thanksgiving this year, I went to Fredericksburg to catch up with some of my high school friends and spend some time with my brother who couldn’t make it to Charlottesville for dinner. I drove into town on Friday night and my closest friends and I spent a night at the newly opened Sedona Taphouse catching up over dinner and drinks. It was so nice to have everyone back together again even if it was only for a few hours.

I stayed with my friend Katie who had to be out of her house early Saturday morning to catch a flight back to Atlanta. I found myself alone in Fredericksburg for a few hours while I waited for my brother to wake up (he’s a bartender and tends to have the exact opposite sleep schedule as me). While I waited I found myself perusing the shops and ended up finding a rice cooker for a pretty good deal at Kohls. I tried to talk myself out of getting it because I really don’t need any new cooking appliances but I thought it would be a great investment and I’ve already used it several times since last week.

The first time I used it was to make a lentil sweet potato dish that I kind of just threw together. It turned out delicious. I put a cup of green lentils in my rice cooker with some water and curry powder as well as one chopped up sweet potato. I threw in half a chopped red pepper and when it was all cooked I put it on a piece of lavish bread from Trader Joe’s. I rolled the whole concoction up and threw it in my toaster oven. When it was nice and toasty, I covered it in Sriracha and wound up with this beautiful creation. It was so good I made another one the next night.

IMG_0934

Once I finished off my lentils, I found myself trying to eat up a bunch of vegetables I had purchased earlier in the weak. For dinner on Wednesday, I took the last of my lavash bread and created a plant based pizza.

IMG_0935

I spread some hummus on the bread as my “sauce” and threw spinach, tomatoes and some nutritional yeast on top. Again, I threw this in my toaster oven until it crisped up and voila! Another plant based dinner ready in minutes. Who said this lifestyle was hard?

2 thoughts on “Recent Plant Based Creations

Leave a Reply

