Finding Passion Everyday

A friend of mine recently posted an article on social media that I decided to check out. It really resonated with me because lately I’ve been struggling to find what my daily passions are. One of the reasons why this article was so hard hitting for me is because it really made me ask myself what are my priorities.

I feel like I’m at the age now where its time to really ask myself that question. What are the things I hope to accomplish in the next few years and what are the steps I should take to get there? And the truth is that I’m also at the age where I. Just. Don’t. Know.

I recently celebrated my 25th birthday and it was the first time I spent it mostly by myself. My parents took me out to dinner but otherwise it was relatively quiet. Not that there is anything wrong with that, (I’m sure there will be many more birthdays like that over the years) it’s just the first time I haven’t been surrounded by a lot of people who wanted to go out and party all night. I’m at an age where my friends are branching off and finding their own paths and its becoming harder and harder to get groups together frequently. It can be really lonely sometimes and it can also be really freeing (I’m someone who gets energized from time spent alone but not TOO much time alone).

But that brings me back to my original question. What is it that gets me energized on a daily basis? After reading the above mentioned article and spending some time discussing the same thing with my therapist this week, I’m finding there are a few things that get me really excited. I need to focus on bringing those experiences out more in my life.

The first thing that I am passionate about is living a healthy lifestyle. I’ve found that I really, really enjoy cooking. There’s something about it that just makes me feel comforted. It’s not just the fact that you get to eat at the end of the process but the whole ordeal of prepping and tasting and testing as you go along until you find something that just works. I really enjoy that and I love sharing that with others.

Another thing that I truly enjoy and hope to cultivate a little more is spending time giving back to my community. Anyone can give money (and should if they can afford to) to causes they support. But for me, I get a sense of fulfillment when I’m actually interacting with people knowing that I am making a difference in their lives. That shouldn’t be too surprising given my chosen profession but I find that I need to be involved outside of work too. It just feels different when you’re not being compensated.

And the third thing that immediately comes to my mind when I ask myself this question is that I love to write and I haven’t been doing much of that lately. My priorities have been focused on getting into graduate school and I have just kind of let myself shift into this mental laziness. I feel recharged when I write, even if I don’t have much to say. I noticed recently that my current journal has entries in it from college. That was over TWO YEARS AGO. How is it possible that someone who loves to write has put her self expression on hold for so long?

There are other things that energize me as well, spending time with friends, exercising, being outside to name a few. These are things that I really need to put more of an effort into. There’s also horseback riding, one of my favorite activities and it has been over a year since Ive been able to ride. I’m not sure exactly when I’ll have the money to get back in the saddle again but that’s definitely a piece of my life that I’m missing at the moment.

I’m sure this will be an evolving theme of my blog in the coming months as I hope to reexamine what it is that energizes me on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

