Good News to Ring in the New Year

I have really exciting news! I found out a couple of weeks ago that I got into graduate school!!!!  I’ve been accepted to UVa’s Doctorate of Nursing Practice program. I’m still waiting to hear back from one more school but I’m pretty sure that I’ll be returning to UVa to become a Triple HOO regardless. It just makes the most sense financially since work will pay for most of it (who can argue with free grad school-especially since I’m still paying for undergrad…).

I spent a lot of time going back and forth with where I wanted to take my career but ever since I made the decision to apply I’ve felt a new resurgence for my chosen path. I’ve only been a nurse for a few years but during my time in the Intensive Care Unit, I found myself emotionally exhausted (often before I even entered the unit-knowing what was awaiting me). The most frustrating part of that was that many of my patients had illnesses that could have been prevented with lifestyle changes.

I know you can’t save everyone with dietary changes but I found myself so frustrated with the way America’s healthcare system is designed that I was seriously considering leaving the profession. It was around that time that I learned about the powers of plant based medicine. More importantly, I learned how many practitioners there are in the country that have found a way to blend lifestyle habits with modern medicine and I realized that you can have both!

I’m looking forward to working with patients to change their lifestyle through dietary modifications while also using modern medications and I’m glad that I have learned about the plant based lifestyle early on. I’m really committed to making myself healthier because I want to set an example for the patients that I treat.

I know how hard it can be to eat a vegan/plant based diet especially when coming from a poor or underserved community. I’ve witnessed the foods that my patients consume on a daily basis and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to show people how healthy whole foods are accessible even in areas where affordable options are scarce.

It’s so wonderful that this news came right around the New Year. I’m feeling very positive as 2016 begins. I can’t wait to see what it brings.

 

Leave a Reply

