Curry Creations

It’s cold outside. Finally. Growing up in Virginia has taught me that there is no rhyme or reason to Mother Nature. Seriously, where else in the world does it go from 60 degrees one day to 30 degrees and back again? Oh well, I guess I should be used to it by now.

This week I kept myself warm by cooking up the most tasty curry I’ve ever made. I adapted the recipe from plant-based on a budget. I used green onions and omitted the coconut oil. Because I was trying to cook without the coconut oil, I forgot how quickly garlic burns and immediately destroyed the bottom of my largest pan. I tried to get the burnt bits off by running the pan under water and of course, let out a cloud of smoke that set my fire detectors off (at least they work right?).

IMG_0043

Luckily for me, I had only used half of my green onions and was able to start over although I had to use a different pan (I was starving and didn’t want to take the time to fully clean the original pan right away). Because of this, I omitted the carrots and snow peas but I did add in some fresh basil and sprouts right at the end. The basil really enhanced the flavor. I also used coconut cream instead of coconut milk but this was only because that is what I had on hand. I do like using coconut cream in my curries although only every now and then as it is very high in fat. In the future, I’ll stick to buying coconut milk.

All in all, this curry is amazing. The only change I would make to the original recipe is that I would leave out the salt. It may have been the curry powder I used (I had a curry powder mix from a local cooking store) but the saltiness was a little overpowering in my version.

IMG_0044

I apologize for this post being later than I had expected. The newest ios update for Macbook apparently is is not compatible with my camera. It took a few days but I figured out that I CAN upload my pictures from my camera to my phone and then share them in iCloud to my computer for blogging purposes (annoying and super frustrating, but effective). Hopefully Sony will send out a new update for their app sharing soon as this is sure to drive me crazy.

Leave a Reply

