Peanut Butter Banana Bread Cookies

Southerners are crazy. Although I grew up in the South, I still claim that I hail from Philadelphia since, technically, I was born there. Considering both of my parents grew up there and I spent a large part of my childhood in South Jersey/Philly visiting family and friends, their habits and traditions rubbed off on me growing up. Therefore, I like to claim I’m not from the South. Don’t get me wrong, it definitely has its charm and I love living in Charlottesville but there are certain things about the South that I still can’t wrap my head around.

For instance, their ability to handle snowstorms. As I sit here typing this blog post, there’s a blanket of snow on the ground. It’s only been snowing for an hour but by the way people have been freaking out all week, you would think the world ended three days ago. Everyone claims that we don’t get snow in the South but I doth protest. In the past few years we’ve had some of the highest recorded snowfalls on record. IT DOES SNOW IN THE SOUTH. Why have we not figured out how to handle it?

Apparently a neighboring county closed schools yesterday.  Like before any precipitation had even been predicted much less appeared. And apparently traffic was so bad in Washington D.C. that it took my best friend 7 HOURS to get from the grocery store to her house (12 miles away). I tell you, people around here are nuts.

IMG_1085

For my part, I woke up this morning and got a quick workout in at 9Round (for the first time since being a nurse I had the snowstorm off) and then ran next door to Giant to pick up some fresh produce that I was running low on. Of course, it was packed and apparently out of potatoes? Like I said, it’s a snowstorm-not the apocalypse. I got home just in time to park my car before the flurries hit and warmed myself up by baking the most incredible cookies ever. Here you go:

Peanut Butter Banana Bread Cookies

1 cup almond flour

1/2 cup oats

2 Tbs dehydrated peanut butter powder

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1 ripe banana

1/3 cup almond milk (I used 1/2 cup but it was a little too much)

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbs chia seeds

1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

Mash the banana in a medium sized bowl and add in almond milk, vanilla, and chia seeds. Once that’s mixed up add in the rest of the ingredients. Bake at 350 degrees for 9 minutes.

IMG_1086

 

They may not look like the prettiest cookies you’ve ever seen but don’t let that fool you! The taste is like any great peanut butter/banana/chocolate chip combination should be. In retrospect, baking cookies may not have been the best decision when I’m going to be stuck inside all weekend…

Leave a Reply

