Homemade Miso Soup

It’s been cold lately. Obviously, we just had a giant snow storm. Leading up to the winter wonderland though, it was just cold all the time. I am not a fan of the chilly weather and can think of nothing better than curling up on my couch everyday after work with blanket upon blanket. And Reggie, of course he helps keep me warm.

IMG_1082
His favorite place to sit. Anywhere on top of me.

In order to keep myself from freezing these days, I decided to make Miso Soup. It’s pretty much the easiest soup on the planet and its oh so delicious.

IMG_1075

Miso Soup:

1 Tbs Miso Paste

3 Cups Water

Bring to a boil and add in any chopped veggies you want. I used: 2 Scallions, 1 Red Pepper, 1 cup of chopped mushrooms, and some grated ginger.

IMG_1077

Next added in some baked tofu and rice noodles. DO NOT FORGET TO RINSE THEM AFTER THEY ARE COOKED. I made that mistake and they turned out pasty. And topped with Sriracha sauce and a handful of fresh basil. The broth keeps for a few days so you can make again later in the week.

For the tofu: I pressed the tofu and then chopped it into cubes. I marinated it in a blend of equal parts Rice vinegar and Soy sauce with a pinch of Sriracha powder and chili paste. If I had thought about baking my tofu ahead of time, I really would have marinated it longer (a few hours would probably be ideal). Throw in the oven at 350 and check after 20 minutes. Flip over to ensure it browns equally.

I hope you enjoy this tasty and simple recipe as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

