Sunday Funday!

Last weekend was absolutely beautiful. I’m so happy that warm weather and sunshine have finally showed up around here. Since this week was Thomas Jefferson’s birthday, Charlottesville celebrated its annual Tom Tom festival. Friday, I spent the evening hanging out with my brother and sister-in-law chasing my niece around Lee Park. There was live music and of course local brews.

On Saturday, I woke up early and snuck in a quick workout at 9Round before hitting up the Farmer’s Market with a few of my old coworkers. I had to work at the vineyard at one so I said goodbye to them and headed out of town to work for a few hours. I could get used to this late afternoon shift, it gave me enough time to enjoy my whole Saturday while also making some money. I brought home a box of wine to share with my parents and my father started a fire in the backyard for us to sit around. I also snuck in a s’mores because we had the supplies and what’s a fire without marshmallows?


I’ve been watching High Carb Hannah on YouTube and she’s started a cycling challenge for herself. I’ve always wanted to get into bicycling since its so popular around here but I find myself making excuses all the time. My mother happens to have a very nice bike that she rarely uses and since we’re the same size, I asked to borrow it. On Sunday morning I woke up early again to get a ride in since I really didn’t want to be anywhere near cars and I figured there wouldn’t be too many people on the road. I biked to a local park and got a lot of practice in on some pretty mild (for Charlottesville at least) hills. I started to get bored doing the same thing over and over so when I was confident enough, I headed back onto the street to Cville Coffee. I stopped for about half an hour and had a cappacino before finally heading home. When I checked the time, I realized I had been gone for two hours and discovered I had gone over 9 miles. Not bad for my first workout.


I spent the rest of the day running errands and snuck in a quick trip to Costco to load up on some much needed produce. I bought a HUGE container of oranges and lemons as well as a bag of kale and made some green juice. I can’t believe how easy and cheap it was compared to buying a fresh juice from the store. I will definitely be doing that more often.

Leave a Reply

